Point Modifications on the PI Server and Application Restarts

An application which has been started using the point caching configuration loads points designated for the application from locally stored cache files. This means that the application only retrieves point information from the PI Server during normal updates or during point synchronization. Therefore, changes made in the PI point database will show up in the application as a typical point create, edit, or delete.

It is recommended to rename or delete previously created cache files while making major point modifications to the host PI Server. This prevents the application from using the outdated cache files during subsequent restarts when the point caching feature is enabled. Once satisfied with application operation and data collection, enable point caching as described in this document and restart the application.

Enabling Operational Intelligence